The Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health


Introducing the Leadership Team

The Department is proud to introduce you to its outstanding senior faculty. Nationally renowned, these men and women have made and continue to make important contributions to the fields of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Women's Health. They represent the core of the academic teaching program.


Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBAProfessor and University Chair
The Chella & Moise Safra Chair

Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA 


Gary L. Goldberg, MDVice Chair
Gynecologic Services
The Linda and Earle Altman Faculty
Scholar for Cancer Research

Gary L. Goldberg, MD 

Cynthia Chazotte, MDVice Chair
Obstetrical Services 

Cynthia Chazotte, MD 

Mark Levie, MDAssociate Chair 

Mark D. Levie, MD 




Avalon Lance, MHA BSN Unified  Administrator
Avalon Lance, BSN, MHA 


Hospital Site Leaders

Erika H. Banks, MD, Director of Gynecology, Weiler Division

Ashlesha Dayal, MD, Director of Obstetrics, Weiler Division

Rodney Wright, MD, MS, Director, Wakefield Division

Mark D. Levie, MD, Director, Moses Division


Division Directors

Family Planning, Nerys Benfield, MD 

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery, Magdy Mikhail, MB, BCH 

Fetal Medicine and Ultrasound, Peer Dar, MD 

Gynecologic Oncology, Gary L. Goldberg, MD 

Maternal Fetal Medicine, Peter S. Bernstein, MD, MPH 

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery, Mark D. Levie, MD 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Harry J. Lieman, MD 

Reproductive and Medical Genetics, Susan D. Klugman, MD 


Program Directors

Family Planning Fellowship, Nerys Benfield, MD 

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship, Marjorie Jean-Michel, MD 

Gynecologic Oncology Fellowship, Dennis Yi-Shin Kuo, MD 

Maternal Fetal Medicine Fellowship, Peter S. Bernstein, MD 

Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery Fellowship, Co-Directors - Mark Levie, MD and Scott Chudnoff, MD 

Physician Assistant Program, Zeidy Flores, PA-C

Program for Early and Recurrent Pregnancy Loss, S. Zev Williams, MD, PhD 

Quality, Patient Safety and Simulation Program, Dena Goffman, MD 

Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility Fellowship, Erkan Buyuk, MD 

Medical Genetics Fellowship, Susan D. Klugman, MD 

Residency Program, Erika Banks, MD; Associate Program Director, Peter Fanti, MD 

Undergraduate Medical Education Program, Staci Pollack, MD 



Jacobi Medical Center
Michael Zinaman, MD, Chair
Daryl Wieland, MD Vice Chair

St. Barnabas
Mark Rosing, MD, MPH, Chair

Click here to log in