Einstein/Montefiore Department of Medicine

Medicine Faculty Honored at 2013 Convocation

Eight Department of Medicine faculty members were recognized at Einstein's Convocation on April 15, 2013.

Julia H. Arnsten, M.D., M.P.H., Professor of Medicine (General Internal Medicine), Epidemiology & Population Health, and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine, was installed as the Director of the Center for Comparative Effectiveness Research.

Meredith A. Hawkins, M.D., Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology) and Director of the Global Diabetes Institute, was invested as the Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Medicine.

Chaim Putterman, M.D., Professor of Medicine (Rheumatology) and Microbiology & Immunology and Chief of the Division of Rheumatology, was newly tenured.

Allan W. Wolkoff, M.D., Professor of Medicine (Gastroenterology & Liver Diseases) and Anatomy & Structural Biology, Chief of the Division of Gastroenterology and Liver Diseases, Department of Medicine Associate Chair for Research, and Director of the Marion Bessin Liver Research Center, was invested as the Herman Lopata Chair in Liver Disease Research.

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Medicine (Infectious Diseases), Chair of the Department of Microbiology & Immunology, and Leo and Julia Forchheimer Chair in Microbiology & Immunology, was installed as the Director of the Center for Immunological Sciences.

Teresa P. DiLorenzo, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology & Immunology and Medicine (Endocrinology), was invested as the Diane Belfer, Cypres & Endelson Families Faculty Scholar in Diabetes Research.

Joe Verghese, M.B., B.S., Professor of Neurology and Medicine (Geriatrics), Director of the Division of Cognitive & Motor Aging (Neurology), Chief of the Division of Geriatrics, and the Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology Murray D. Gross Memorial Faculty Scholar in Gerontology, was installed as the Director of the Jack and Pearl Resnick Gerontology Center.

Judith Wylie-Rosett, Ed.D., Professor of Epidemiology & Population Health (Health Promotion and Nutrition Research) and Medicine (Endocrinology), and Head of the Division of Health Promotion and Nutrition Research, was invested as the Atran Foundation Chair in Social Medicine.

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
Belfer Building - Room 1008
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461 (directions)

Physicians and Patients:
866-MED-TALK (866-633-8255)

Internal Medicine Residency Program:

Administrative Questions:
Fax: 718-430-8659



Thursday, April 26, 2018

Medicine Grand Rounds: Women in Medicine - Creating an Inclusive Healthcare System
Darily Moyer, MD, FACP
12:15 PM : Montefiore Medical Center Cherkasky Auditorium

Grand Rounds

Einstein (East) & Moses (West) Campus


Click here to log in