Alumni Awards

Each year, Albert Einstein College of Medicine recognizes distinguished alumni for their significant achievements and contributions to the advancement of medicine, biomedical science and medical education. The recipients of these awards, the highest recognition given to alumni, bring honor to the College of Medicine and serve as role models for current and future Einstein students. The Einstein Alumni Association also annually honors a non-alumni faculty member whose achievements and contributions exemplify similar excellence and influence. Awards are presented annually at Commencement and the annual Reunion Dinner in the spring.  

Award Categories:     

  • Dominick P. Purpura Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes alumni with outstanding achievements in clinical medicine, biomedical research, and/or humanitarian achievements. 
  • Distinguished PhD Alumnus Award recognizes alumni with outstanding accomplishments in biomedical science, biotechnology, and/or biomedical research for the benefit of humankind. 
  • Distinguished Alumnus/Clinical Practitioner Award recognizes alumni who have made significant contributions to their local communities through their work as medical practitioners. 
  • Einstein Honorary Alumnus Award recognizes non-alumni members of the faculty who have made a profound impact on the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and who exemplify the values of humanity and compassion through their abiding commitment to best serve our students. 
  • Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes alumni who have attained distinction in their fields and who have made major contributions to the health and welfare of underserved communities. 
  • Lifetime Service Award recognizes alumni members who have demonstrated exemplary service and dedication to the Albert Einstein College of Medicine community through their volunteer efforts. 

Candidates for alumni awards must be graduates of the College of Medicine or the Sue Golding Graduate Division of Biomedical Science. Honorary Alumnus Award candidates must be members of the faculty who are not Einstein alumni. Recipients are chosen by the Einstein Alumni Association Awards Committee with approval of the full Board of Governors and the Dean of the College. All alumni are invited to nominate candidates for each of the awards, and self-nomination is accepted.  A list of past recipients is available by clicking the links above. 

2020 Alumni Award Recipients:   

The Dominick P. Purpura Distinguished Alumnus Award 

 Harold S. Koplewicz, M.D. '78 

The Distinguished PhD Alumnus Award  

 Daniel E. Morse Ph.D. '67  

The Distinguished Alumnus/Clinical Practitioner Award 

 Miriam Levy, M.D. '79  

The Lifetime Achievement Award 

 Walter A. Orenstein, M.D. '72  

The Lifetime Service Award 

 Bruce H. Soloway, M.D. '85  

The Einstein Honorary Alumnus Award 

 Penny Steiner-Grossman, Ed.D. 


Click here to log in