Commencement 2016

Einstein Celebrates Its 58th Commencement

May 26, 2016—(BRONX, NY)—Yesterday, Albert Einstein College of Medicine celebrated its 58th commencement at David Geffen Hall at Lincoln Center. During the ceremony, 182 M.D. and 56 Ph.D. degrees were conferred on the Einstein graduates. In addition, 16 graduates of Einstein’s Medical Scientist Training Program received both an M.D. and a Ph.D. degree.

Susan Band Horwitz, Ph.D., distinguished professor of molecular pharmacology and the Rose C. Falkenstein Chair in Cancer Research at Einstein, delivered the keynote speech.  She addressed the assembled graduates, families and friends about what Einstein’s motto – Science at the heart of medicine – means to her and the importance of remaining curious and thinking creatively in order to assimilate and contribute new knowledge.

During the event, six individuals were honored with awards from Einstein’s Alumni Association:

  • Dominick P. Purpura Distinguished Alumnus Award: Alfredo A. Sadun, M.D. ’78, Ph.D. ’76, The Flora L. Thornton Chair of Vision, Doheny Eye Institute; and professor and vice-chair, ophthalmology, UCLA School of Medicine
  • Distinguished Ph.D. Alumnus/a Award: Sue Wickner, Ph.D. ’74, NIH distinguished investigator, laboratory of molecular biology, and head, DNA molecular biology section, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute
  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine celebrates its 58th commencement ceremony at David Geffen Hall, at Lincoln Center in New York City.
    M.D. Class of 2016 (Click here to enlarge)
    Distinguished Alumnus/Clinical Practitioner Award: Gail Solomon, M.D. ’62, professor emerita, clinical neurology and psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical College; director emerita, electroencephalography laboratory, New York-Presbyterian-Weill Cornell Medical College; and attending physician, neurology and pediatrics, New York-Presbyterian
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Neil Flomenbaum, M.D. ’73, professor, clinical medicine and emergency physician-in-chief, New York-Presbyterian- Weill Cornell Medical College; chief, division of emergency medicine, department of medicine, Weill Cornell; and medical director, Emergency Medical Service, New York-Presbyterian
  • Lifetime Service Award: Harris Goldstein, M.D. ’80, associate dean for scientific resources; Charles Michael Chair in Autoimmune Diseases; and professor of pediatrics and of microbiology & immunology, Einstein; director, Einstein Montefiore Center for AIDS Research; attending physician, Children’s Hospital at Montefiore (CHAM).
  • Honorary Alumnus Award: Stephen G. Baum, M.D., senior associate dean for students, professor of medicine and of microbiology & immunology, Einstein

The graduation ceremony also honored seven Einstein faculty members for teaching or research excellence:

  • Samuel M. Rosen Award for Outstanding Teaching–Basic Science (selected by the students): Irene Blanco, M.D ’04, M.S. ’10, associate professor of clinical medicine (rheumatology), associate dean for the office of diversity enhancement, Einstein; attending physician, Montefiore
  • Samuel M. Rosen Award for Outstanding Teaching–Clinical (selected by the students): Mimoza Meholli, M.D., professor of medicine (hospital medicine), Einstein
  • Harry Eagle Award for Outstanding Basic Science Teaching: Joshua D. Nosanchuk, M.D., professor of medicine (infectious diseases) and of microbiology & immunology, assistant dean for student affairs, Einstein; attending physician, Montefiore
  • Harry H. Gordon Award for Outstanding Clinical Teaching: Lawrence J. Brandt, M.D., professor of medicine (gastroenterology & liver diseases) and of surgery, Einstein; attending physician, Montefiore
  • Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Teaching: Robert W. Marion, M.D. ’79, professor of pediatrics and of obstetrics and gynecology & women’s health, Einstein; attending physician, Montefiore
  • LaDonne H. Schulman Award for Excellence in Teaching: Dianne Cox, Ph.D., professor of anatomy & structural biology and of developmental & molecular biology, Einstein
  • Saul R. Korey Award in Translational Science and Medicine: Richard Gorlick, M.D., vice chair and chief, division of pediatric hematology-oncology, department of pediatrics, Einstein and CHAM

Photo Gallery

(To view slideshow of photo gallery, click on an image below; then move your mouse over the left or right margins to navigate.)

Dr. Edward R. Burns and Dr. Steven M. Safyer Dr. Myles Akabas and Dr. Dale Hodge Dr. Sue Wickner and Dr. Victoria Freedman Dr. Marti Grayson Dr. Stephen Baum, Dr. Alison Ludwig, Dr. Joshua Nosanchuck

Dr. Susan Band Horwitz and Dr. Allen M. Spiegel Janina Galler, Dr. Stephen Baum and Dr. Allen M. Spiegel

Edited: March 8, 2018