Einstein Faculty

Einstein is home to more than 2,000 faculty members, who promote research and academic excellence at the College of Medicine.  In addition to conducting research in the institution’s 300 laboratories, these individuals serve as mentors and teachers to the medical school’s 724 M.D. students, 248 Ph.D. students, 117 M.D.-Ph.D. students and 368 postdoctoral research fellows. This page reflects resources and information useful to Einstein investigators, along with highlights pertaining to honors and events relevant to faculty.  Can't find a resource you need?  Please contact webrunners@einstein.yu.edu to let us know.

Faculty Features

The Third Annual Einstein and Montefiore Presidential Lectures

On Monday, June 3 in Robbins Auditorium, Einstein and Montefiore hosted the third annual Presidential Lecture, which highlights outstanding research being done at the institutions. This year’s honorees were read more >

Dr. Jonathan Backer: Molecules by Day, Music by Night

Dr. Jonathan Backer is Einstein’s professor and chair of molecular pharmacology and a leading bench researcher on phosphoinositide 3-kinases, cellular proteins linked to various cancers. After hours, though, you read more >

Presidential Lecture Celebrates Innovative Research

On May 1, 2018, Betsy Herold, M.D. and William Jacobs Jr., Ph.D. presented their development of a novel vaccine to combat herpes simplex virus (HSV) at the Presidential Lecture read more >


Faculty Development Events

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

"Excel: Statistical Analysis"

Time: 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM
Location: Forchheimer, 119N

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

"Mastering PubMed: The Essentials and Beyond"

Time: 9:00 AM to 11:00 AM
Location: Forchheimer, 119N


Leadership Appointments

The Children’s Hospital at Montefiore (CHAM) and the department of pediatrics at Albert Einstein College of Medicine have recently added several key leaders to their ranks. Under the direction of Judy Aschner, M.D., physician-chief at CHAM and university chair, pediatrics at Einstein and Montefiore, the new recruitments and promotions include:

  • Patricia Hametz, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Suzette Oyeku, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Peter Belamarich, M.D.
  • Melissa Wasserstein, M.D

read more >


Academic Honors

Novel Approach to Liver Disease Research—Eva Billerbeck, Ph.D., has received a 2019 Pinnacle Research Award from the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD). Through AASLD funding, the honor supports those who demonstrate exceptional aptitude and deep interest in liver disease research and treatment. Dr. Billerbeck and her team will use a hepacivirus mouse model that they developed to gain insights into both the protective and harmful mechanisms of the liver’s immune system in instances of inflammatory liver disease. This model may offer a novel method of studying liver disease since access to human liver tissue is extremely limited, particularly during acute viral infections. Dr. Billerbeck is assistant professor of medicine and of microbiology & immunology.

view all