Science at the heart of medicine

Graduate Programs in the Biomedical Sciences



Feb 01, 2017
11:45 PM
SURP Application Deadline
Summer 2017 program


Mar 20, 2017
9:30 AM
21st Annual Julius Marmur Symposium
Forchheimer Medical Science Building 3rd Fl. Lecture Hall

Thesis Defense Seminars

Monday, February 27, 2017
1:30 PM

Thesis Defense
Ekaterina Taneva


Graduate Constitution & Bylaws

Constitution & Bylaws coming soon!


The LaDonne H. Schulman Award for Excellence in Teaching is presented each year to a faculty member of the Graduate Division at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine Graduate Division who has demonstrated exemplary skill in teaching and mentoring. The graduate students select the award winner every year.

Dr. LaDonne Schulman was a Professor in the Department of Developmental Biology and Cancer (now Developmental and Molecular Biology) from 1968 until her untimely passing in 1992. Dr. Schulman was a leader in the field of transfer RNA specificity. She was an outstanding teacher and mentor, who cared tremendously for her students, from who she garnered admiration throughout her career. Graduate students she trained in her own laboratory have gone on to very successful scientific careers. It was in this light that the LaDonne H. Schulman Award for Excellence in Teaching was established in 1993. The LaDonne Shullman Awardee receives the Award at the Graduate Student Reception that year and the award is mentioned in that year’s Graduation Ceremony.


To qualify the nominee must:

(1) hold a permanent, full-time faculty appointment at the rank of instructor, assistant professor, associate professor, or professor, or a position of assistant/associate in, research associate, or other position with a full-time teaching assignment

(3) have taught at least one course (not lecture) in the year of the award; and

(4) have not received the La Donne Shullman award during the last three years.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _


Jan-Feb – Eligible nominations are received from the graduate students via the GSC list serv.

Feb-March 5th – The GSC votes amongst three of the most nominated faculty members. If there are less than two faculty members with more than one nomination, the GSC will vote amongst all the nominees.
First week of March – GSC Co-chairs tally the votes & announce the winner to the GSC and the Graduate Office.

Last week of March - GSC Co-Chairs write a formal letter of congratulations to the award recipient. 

Previous Awardees:

2009: Dr. Pamela Stanley

2008: Dr. Fernando Macian

2007: Dr. Kamran Khodakhah

2006: Dr. Ana Maria Cuervo


Life According to Sue (the PhD Survival Guide) 


In this Section


About Us 
Einstein Clubs 
Officer Duties 
Constitution & Bylaws 
Upcoming Orientation Events  
GSC Events
Contact Us 



Next meeting
August 3rd 12:30pm
Belfer 801

CMS Training
August 23rd 12pm


Apply Now

Apply Now

Apply Now

Apply Now

Click here to log in
height: 310px !important; background-image: url(/images/education/phd/bg/bg-apply-lg.png);