Educational Resources

Education Awards

The Leo M. Davidoff Society honors teachers who have made significant contributions to the education of students at the College of Medicine. Dr. Davidoff was born in Latvia in 1898, immigrated to the U.S. and began his medical training at Harvard. In 1954, he became the first chair of the Department of Surgery, and five years later in 1959, the Chair of Neurological Surgery. It was his work as Associate Dean with responsibility for education, as well as his love of teaching, that cause him to be remembered as the respected and beloved teacher of many who trained at Einstein.

On the occasion of Dr. Davidoff’s death in 1976, his wife, Dr. Ida Davidoff, herself an Einstein faculty member in Psychiatry, established the Leo M. Davidoff Society in his memory. As of today, just over 300 Einstein faculty have been honored with membership in the Society.

Nominations for membership in the Davidoff Society are solicited in January of each year. Nominees must have faculty appointments at Einstein and demonstrate evidence of excellent teaching of medical students for at least five years. For more information about the Davidoff Society nomination process, please contact Dr. Grossman at 718.430.2693, or


Faculty Mentoring Award

Annually, the OER assists the Medical Education Council in soliciting nominations for the annual Einstein Faculty Mentoring Award. This award has been instituted to recognize the significant impact of mentoring on the career development and success of our faculty. Guidelines for the Faculty Mentoring Award and the nomination process are provided here

The award will be given to senior members of the Einstein faculty (Associate Professor or Professor), who have successfully mentored junior Einstein faculty. Two awards are given each year: one to a faculty member whose primary appointment is in a basic science department, and one to a faculty member whose primary appointment is in a clinical department. (For this purpose, the Department of Pathology will be identified as a clinical department.). Please click here to download the Nomination Form.  

Click here to log in