Educational Resources

Harry Eagle Award

The Harry Eagle Award for Outstanding Basic Science Teaching is named for Dr. Harry Eagle, professor and chairman of the cell biology department, founding chairman of its Biological Sciences Division, associate dean for Scientific Affairs and founding director of its Cancer Research Center. This faculty-nominated award is for a faculty member who is an outstanding teacher and leader in basic science education to our MD students. The award is presented at the Einstein Education Award Day and at graduation.

Outstanding Basic Science Teaching

1995 Stephen Factor, M.D.  Department of Pathology; Department of Medicine
1996 Franklin Lowy, M.D.  Department of Medicine (Infectious Diseases)
  Vern Schramm, Ph.D.  Department of Biochemistry
1997 Steven U. Walkley, D.V.M., Ph.D. Department of Neuroscience
1998 Richard Hays, M.D.      Department of Medicine (Nephrology)
1999 Todd R. Olson, Ph.D.  Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology
  Charles Nordin, M.D.  Department of Medicine (Cardiology)
2000 Howard Steinman, Ph.D. Department of Biochemistry
2001 Harris Goldstein, M.D. Department of Pediatrics; Department of Microbiology & Immunology
2002 Joan Jones, M.D.  Department of Pathology
2003 Edward Burns, M.D. Department of Pathology
2004 Paul Marantz, M.D. Department of Epidemiology & Public Health; Department of Medicine
  Liise-anne Pirofski, M.D. Department of Medicine and Department of Microbiology & Immunology
2005 Barbara K. Birshtein, Ph.D. Department of Cell Biology
2006 Christopher Cimino, M.D. Assistant Dean for Educational Informatics; Department of Neurology
2007 David J. Prezant, M.D. Department of Medicine (Pulmonary)
2008 Douglas M. Simon, M.D. Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology)
2009 Lloyd D. Fricker, Ph.D. Department of Molecular Pharmacology
2010 Michael S. Risley, Ph.D. Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology
2011 Chaim Putterman, M.D. Department of Medicine and Department of Microbiology & Immunology
2012 Joseph C. Arezzo, Ph.D. Department of Neuroscience
2013 Amanda C. Raff, M.D. Department of Medicine (Nephrology)
2014 Lawrence I. Cytryn, M.D. Department of Medicine (Hematology)
2015 Robert L. Goodman, M.D. Department of Medicine
Click here to log in