Loading Navigation...

Loading Department...
Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Department Chair

Denis L. Rousseau, Ph.D.

Denis L. Rousseau, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Chair, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 325
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3592
Fax: 718.430.8808
denis.rousseau@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Cytochrome c oxidase structure, function and dynamics. Catalytic mechanism of the membrane-bound enzyme probed by time resolved resonance Raman scattering and time resolved X-ray crystallography.

All Faculty

Seetharama A. Acharya, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 911D
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2133
seetharama.acharya@einstein.yu.edu

Philip Aisen, M.D.

Philip Aisen, M.D.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine (General Internal Medicine)

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 215
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2593
philip.aisen@einstein.yu.edu

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 209
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3360
Fax: 718.430.8819
myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Malaria parasite membrane transport physiology; mechanisms of purine and drug transport; development of novel antimalarial drugs that target the primary malaria purine import transporter

Ana B. Asenjo, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3451
ana.asenjo@einstein.yu.edu

Robert M. Bookchin, M.D.

Robert M. Bookchin, M.D.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine (Hematology)

Professor Emeritus, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Van Etten, Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.918.4178
robert.bookchin@einstein.yu.edu

Craig A. Branch, Ph.D.

Craig A. Branch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Radiology

Associate Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Director, Gruss Magnetic Resonance Research Center, Department of Radiology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8917
craig.branch@einstein.yu.edu

Robin W. Briehl, M.D.

Robin W. Briehl, M.D.

Professor Emeritus, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Assistant Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine (Hematology)

Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 215
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2079
robin.briehl@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: We aim to develop a treatment for sickle cell disease, the first-described molecular disease, which afflicts millions world-wide. Our innovative approach focuses on dissolving pathogenic hemoglobin polymers in the lungs.

Nancy M. Buckley, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461

David Cowburn, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 423
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8621
david.cowburn@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Structural molecular biology; structure/function relationships in the immune system, signal transduction, and nuclear transport; NMR; integration of simulation of time dependent processes and experiment; protein engineering.

Kelvin Davies, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 742
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3201
Fax: 718.430.8694
kelvin.davies@einstein.yu.edu

Alan Finkelstein, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 203
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3169
alan.finkelstein@einstein.yu.edu

Adam Friedman, M.D.

Adam Friedman, M.D.

Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine (Dermatology)

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

George Washington University
22nd & 1st Street
2nd Floor
Washington, DC 20037

Tel: 202.741.2600
friedmanderm1@gmail.com

Joel M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Joel M. Friedman, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Professor, Department of Medicine

Young Men's Division Chair in Physiology Emeritus

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 325
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3591
joel.friedman@einstein.yu.edu

Gary J. Gerfen, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 225
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2634
Fax: 718.430.8819
gary.gerfen@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Enzyme structure/function studies, mechanisms of radical enzymes, advanced EPR technique development, site-directed spin label studies, mechanistic studies of ribonucleotide reductase, cytochrome c oxidase, kinesin 13's.

Raj K. Gupta, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 314
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2729
raj.gupta@einstein.yu.edu

Izumi Ishigami, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2899
Fax: 718.430.8819
izumi.ishigami@einstein.yu.edu

Karen S. Jakes, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 205
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3169
Fax: 718.430.8819
karen.jakes@einstein.yu.edu

Linda A. Jelicks, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1225 Morris Park Avenue
Van Etten, Room: 468D
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.839.7144
linda.jelicks@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: In vivo preclinical anatomic, functional, and molecular multimodality imaging of small animals.

Laura J. Juszczak, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 305B
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3214
ljuzak@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Paul K. Kienker, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 205
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3169
Fax: 718.430.8819
paul.kienker@einstein.yu.edu

Adele B. Kostellow, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 223
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2065

Sandra V. Lopez-Quintero, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 307
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3215
Fax: 718.430.8819
sandra.lopez-quintero@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: My research has focused on vascular transport and vascular permeability in health and disease. Recently we have been studying the blood brain barrier permeability to deliver drugs to tumors in the brain using a mouse model.

Gene A. Morrill, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 250
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2072
gene.morrill@einstein.yu.edu

Parimala Nacharaju, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 320
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8571
Fax: 718.430.8819
parimala.nacharaju@einstein.yu.edu

Seiji Ogawa, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 204
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4015
s.ogawa33@nifty.com

Areas of Research: Structural and functional MRI to elucidate the system activity of the brain related to the education induced plasticity. Intersted in finding fMRI signal characters that distinguish the information content of neuro-processing

Jack Peisach, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 218
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2175
jack.peisach@einstein.yu.edu

David J. Prezant, M.D.

Montefiore Medical Center
111 East 210th Street
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.6054
Fax: 718.652.8384
dprezant@montefiore.org

Victor L. Schuster, M.D.

Victor L. Schuster, M.D.

Professor, Department of Medicine (Nephrology)

Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics

Senior Vice-Dean

Ted and Florence Baumritter Chair in Medicine

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 615C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2910
Fax: 718.430.8963
victor.schuster@einstein.yu.edu

Steven D. Schwartz, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 213
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2139
steve.schwartz@einstein.yu.edu

Wolf R. See, D.Sc.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Block, Room: 333
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2280

David J. Sharp, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 223
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3463
Fax: 718.430.8819
david.sharp@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: We study the roles of microtubules in cell division, motility and morphogenesis. We are developing therapeutics that target microtubule regulators to enhance wound healing, neural regeneration and cardiovascular disease.

Hernando J. Sosa, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3456
Fax: 718.430.8819
hernando.sosa@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Structure and function of the cytoskeleton. Biological molecular motors. Kinesins. Structural biology. Cryo-electron microscopy. Single molecule florescence microscopy.

Jil Tardiff, M.D., Ph.D.

University of Arizona @ Tucson
1656 East Mabel Street
MRB 312, MS # 245217
Tuscon, AZ 85724


jtardiff@email.arizona.edu

Mark E. Wagshul, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4011
Fax: 718.430.3399
mark.wagshul@einstein.yu.edu

Beatrice A. Wittenberg, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 119
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2066
beatrice.wittenberg@einstein.yu.edu

Jonathan B. Wittenberg, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: G19
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2064
jwitten@post.harvard.edu

Syun-Ru Yeh, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 313
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4234
syun-ru.yeh@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Regulatory and Inhibitory Mechanisms of Human Tryptophan Dioxygenase and Indoleamine 2,3-Dioxygenase: enzymology, spectroscopy, crystallography, protein chemistry, protein dynamics and drug discovery

Edward L. Yellin, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Block, Room: 200
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2261
ed@yellin.net

Click here to log in