Neuroscience Graduate Students

 

Brenda Abdelmesih

 


Kennedy Center
 
 

babdelme@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

 

 

 

Amir Aschner

 

Kohn Lab
Kennedy Center 822
Tel: 718.430.2418
Fax: 718.430.8821

aaschner@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I study sensory processing, specifically adaptation - how recent sensory experience affects neuronal responses to current/subsequent inputs, and the implications of these changes in neuronal responses on sensory encoding.

 

 

Rayna Birnbaum 

 

Sharp Lab
Ullman 223
Tel: 718.430.3463
Fax:

rbirnba2@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Kelin Brace

 

Sussman Lab
Kennedy Center 210
Tel: 718.430.3313
Fax: 718.430.8821

kelin.brace@med.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: My thesis work is focused on how humans process sounds in complex auditory environments, and specifically how task demands affect this processing.

 

 

Abigail Carbonell 

 

Jordan Lab
Kennedy Center 825
Tel: 718.430.2619
Fax: 718.430.8821

abigail.carbonell@med.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Ilaria Carta

 

Autry Lab
Kennedy Center 301
Tel: 718.430.8617
Fax: 718.430.8821

carta@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Neural circuits of social and parental behavior, role of neuroendocrine cells in parenting, circuit plasticity.  

 

 

Charles M Crouse

 

Nicola Lab
Ullman 103
Tel: 
Fax: 718.430.2865

ccrouse1@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Reward prediction error, dopamine, learning and behavior.

 

 

Aida Davilla 

 

Kohn Lab
Kennedy Center 821
Tel: 718.430.2418
Fax: 718.430.8821

adavila@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Eliezyer F. de Oliveira

 

Sjulson Lab
Kennedy Center 227
Tel:
Fax: 718.430.8821

edeolive@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Neural basis of motivated behavior.

 

 

Maria Frechou 

 

Goncalves Lab
Kennedy Center 236
Tel: 718.430.8725
Fax: 718.430.8821

mfrechou@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Basia Galinski

 

Daniel Weiser / Hebert Lab 
Ullmann 813
Tel: 
Fax:

galinski@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Neuroblastoma, Novel Therapeutic Strategies.

 

 

Sarah Goebel

 

Francesconi Lab / Verselis Lab
Kennedy Center 706
Tel: 718.430.2258
Fax: 718.430.8821

sarah.goebel@einsteinmed.org 

Areas of research: Role of dysregulated lipid raft proteins in the molecular mechanisms underlying disease pathology of Fmr1 KO mouse, model of Fragile X Syndrome; impact of cholinergic system on Fmr1 KO disease mechanism.

 

 

Marta Gronska-Peski

 

Hebert Lab
Kennedy Center 230
Tel: 718.430.3493
Fax: 718.430.8821

marta.gronska@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Adult hippocampal neurogenesis. Cortical cell replacement.

 

 

Hayden Hatch

 

Secombe Lab
Ullmann 809
Tel: 718.430.2529
Fax: 718.430.8778

hayden.hatch@einsteinmed.org 

Areas of research: My research focusses on the KDM5 family of transcriptional regulators, mutations in which account for 1-3% of inherited Intellectual Disability (ID) ranging from mild to severe. In particular, I am interested in understanding how KDM5 contributes to neuronal, transcriptional, and behavioral outputs that influence cognition, and how these are altered by mutations associated with ID.

 

 

Kyle Jensen 

 

Castillo Lab
Kennedy Center 701
Tel: 718.430.3262
Fax: 718.430.8821

kyle.jensen@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Nachiket Kamatkar 

 

Hebert Lab
Kennedy Center 230
Tel: 718.430.3493
Fax: 718.430.8821

nachiket.kamatkar@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Therapeutics for FGF signaling related neuropathological disorders. 

 

 

Joanna Krzyspiak 

 

Hebert Lab
Kennedy Center 230
Tel: 718.430.3493
Fax: 718.430.8821

krzyspia@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Garrett Lee

 

Buelow Lab
Ullmann 709
Tel: 718.430.3622
Fax: 718.430.8778

glee2@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I am studying an instance of synaptic asymmetry in C. elegans  

 

 

Pablo Lituma 

 

Castillo Lab
Kennedy Center 701
Tel: 718.430.3262
Fax: 718.430.8821

pablo.lituma@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Stefano Lutzu 

 

Castillo Lab
Kennedy Center 701
Tel: 718.430.3262
Fax: 718.430.8821

stefano.lutzu@einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Kelsey McDermott 

 

Goncalves Lab
Kennedy Center 230
Tel: 718.430.8725
Fax: 718.430.8821

kmcdermo@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Mahfuzur Miah 

 

Aschner Lab
Forchheimer 209
Tel: 718.430.2317
Fax:

mahfuzur.miah@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Hannah Monday

 

Castillo Lab
Kennedy Center 703
Tel: 718.430.3262
Fax: 718.430.8821

monday@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Molecular mechanisms of experience- and activity-dependent changes in neurotransmitter release and presynaptic structure.

 

 

Kristin Palarz

 

Khodakhah Lab
Kennedy Center 501
Tel: 718.430.3795
Fax: 718.430.8821

palarz@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Cerebellar physiology and function; Motor coordination and movement disorders; ataxia; Spinocerebellar ataxia type 3; serotonergic modulation of cerebellar circuitry in health and disease

 

 

Morgan Porch 

 

Zukin Lab
Kennedy Center 610
Tel: 718.430.2160
Fax: 718.430.8821

morgan.porch@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Synaptic plasticity and cognition.

 

 

Alexandra Quezada

 

Hebert Lab
Kennedy Center 230
Tel: 718.430.3493
Fax: 718.430.8821

aquezad1@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Cortical development, cell replacement therapy.

 

 

Maisha Rahman

 

Buelow Lab
Ullmann 709
Tel: 718.430.3622
Fax: 718.430.8778

mrahman1@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: genetics of dendrite development; N-glycosylation; C. elegans dendrite morphology.

 

 

Jacob Ratliff

 

Batista-Brito Lab
Kennedy Center 203
Tel: 718.430.8287
Fax: 718.430.8821

jratliff@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I am interested in understanding the role of cortical inhibitory neurons in regulating cortical states using a combination of in vivo and genetic techniques.

 

 

Cindy Reyes 

 

Nicola Lab
Forchheimer 103
Tel: 718.430.2667
Fax:

cindy.reyes@phd.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Francisco Rivera

 

Francesconi Lab
Kennedy Center 706
Tel:
Fax: 718.430.8821

frivera1@einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Stacy Roudabush 

 

Zukin Lab
Kennedy Center 610
Tel: 718.430.2160
Fax: 718.430.8821

sroudabu@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Neurodevelopment, molecular biology, intellectual disabilities. 

 

 

Todd Rubin

 

Lipton Lab
Gruss MRRC 219D
Tel: 718.430.3126
Fax: 718.430.8821

tgrubin@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: My research focus is on risk and susceptibility to repetitive subconcussive head injury. We study amateur soccer players using Diffusion Tensor MRI, and utilize animal models to investigate underlying biological mechanisms of injury and recovery.

 

 

Victoria Sedwick

 

Autry Lab
Kennedy Center 301
Tel: 718.430.2370
Fax: 718.430.8821

vsedwick@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: Elucidating functional mechanisms and behavioral circuitry of infant-directed aggression and parenting behaviors in mice. 

 

 

Keanu Shadron

 

Pena Lab
Kennedy Center 529
Tel: 718.430.4092
Fax: 718.430.8821

kshadro1@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I am interested in how the brain encodes long term sensory statistics. Our lab studies this using the sound localization behavior of barn owls. 

 

 

Seydanur Tikir

 

Molholm Lab
Van Etten 1C-11
Tel: 718.862.1895
Fax: 718.862.1807

stikir@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I investigate neurobiology of autism spectrum disorders with a focus on predictive processing, using electrophysiological recordings (EEG), pupillometry, computational modeling, clinical tools, and binocular rivalry.

 

 

Meera Trivedi 

 

Buelow Lab
Ullman 709
Tel: 718.430.3622
Fax:

mtrivedi@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research:  

 

 

Claire Ward

 

Batista-Brito Lab
Kennedy Center 203
Tel: 718.430.8287
Fax: 718.430.8821

ceward@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: I am interrogating how disruptions to the development of inhibitory interneurons, such as those caused by mutations underlying neurodevelopmental disorders, can disrupt cortical processing.

 

 

Hui Yang

 

Singer Lab
Golding 601
Tel: 718.430.8648
Fax: 718.430.8697

hyang1@mail.einstein.yu.edu 

Areas of research: "What drives us to eat?" -- neural control of feeding and other energy-sensitive innate behaviors.