Faculty

Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Department Chair

Kamran Khodakhah, Ph.D.

Kamran Khodakhah, Ph.D.

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Professor, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology

Chair, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Florence and Irving Rubinstein Chair in Neuroscience

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 506
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3794
Fax: 718.430.8821
k.khodakhah@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Cerebellar physiology and function; Motor coordination and movement disorders; Cerebellar contribution to non-motor functions, Autism, schizophrenia, addiction and migraine; Neuronal Excitability and Synaptic transmission.

All Faculty

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 209
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3360
Fax: 718.430.8819
myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Malaria parasite membrane transport physiology; mechanisms of purine and drug transport; development of novel antimalarial drugs that target the primary malaria purine import transporter

Jonathan E. Alpert, M.D., Ph.D.

Jonathan E. Alpert, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Dorothy and Marty Silverman Chair in Psychiatry

Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Belfer Building, Room: 402
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3080
jonathan.alpert@einstein.yu.edu

Zeynep F. Altun, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
zeynep.altun@einstein.yu.edu

Joseph C. Arezzo, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 322
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2468
Fax: 718.430.8588
joseph.arezzo@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Studies of peripheral neuropathy in mice, rats, and monkeys. Spinal Cord and cortical cord physiology. EEG studies of seizure and pre-seizure patterns Assessment of toxic neuropathies Human multicenter clinical trials

Michael Aschner, Ph.D.

Michael Aschner, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Pharmacology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Harold & Muriel Block Chair in Molecular Pharmacology

Director, Einstein Center of Toxicology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 209
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2317
Fax: 718.430.8922
michael.aschner@einstein.yu.edu

Praveen Ballabh, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 724A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3853
Fax: 718.430.8821
praveen.ballabh@einstein.yu.edu

Thaddeus A. Bargiello, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 518
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2575
ted.bargiello@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Structure-function relations and voltage-driven conformational changes of connexin ion channels by combined electrophysiological, biochemical, structural and computational approaches.

Michael V. L. Bennett, D.Phil.

Michael V. L. Bennett, D.Phil.

Distinguished Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Sylvia and Robert S. Olnick Chair in Neuroscience

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 704
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2536
michael.bennett@einstein.yu.edu

Aviv Bergman, Ph.D.

Aviv Bergman, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Systems & Computational Biology

Professor, Department of Pathology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Chair, Department of Systems & Computational Biology

Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Systems & Computational Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 153C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1063
Fax: 718.678.1018
aviv.bergman@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: My research agenda addresses quantitative problems in evolutionary systems and developmental biology by using a combination of computational, mathematical and experimental tools, as it pertains to complex traits.

Celia Fildes Brosnan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 520
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2140
celia.brosnan@einstein.yu.edu

Lucy L. Brown, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 125F
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3728
Fax: 718.430.3266
lucy.brown@einstein.yu.edu

Hannes E. Buelow, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 709
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3621
Fax: 718.430.8778
hannes.buelow@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Dendrite and axon patterning in neural development with a focus on extracellular matrices; using the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans to model human disease; investigating the role of glycosaminoglycans in health and disease.

Herman Buschke, M.D.

Herman Buschke, M.D.

Professor, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Lena and Joseph Gluck Distinguished Scholar in Neurology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Louis and Dora Rousso Building
1165 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 305
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3846
herman.buschke@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Alzheimer's disease Dementia Memory Cognition

Antonio Campos De Carvalho, M.D., Ph.D.

Brigadeiro Trompovsk
IBCCF, Sala #G2-043
Ilha do Fundao
Rio de Janeiro, 21949900


acarlos@bio.ufrj.br

Reed C. Carroll, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 905
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2413
Fax: 718.430.8821
rcarroll@njcu.edu

Pablo E. Castillo, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 701
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3263
pablo.castillo@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Excitatory and inhibitory synaptic transmission and plasticity under physiological and brain disease conditions, such as Alzheimer’s disease, epilepsy, autism, schizophrenia and drug abuse

Andres E. Chavez Navarrete, M.Sc., Ph.D.

Universidad de Valparaiso
Avenida Gran Bretana 1111
Casilla 5029, Correo 4
Valparaiso,


andres.chavez@uv.cl

Streamson C. Chua, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 511
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2986
Fax: 718.430.8557
streamson.chua@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Hypothalamic regulation of energy balance and feeding; Melanocortin regulation of fertility and reproduction; FGF signaling and glucose control; Leptin and leptin receptor models of obesity and diabetes;

Ruben Coen Cagli, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 353B
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1150
ruben.coen-cagli@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Neural computation in sensory processing

Stanley M. Crain, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 907
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2736
stanleycrain@aol.com

Peter Davies, Ph.D.

Peter Davies, Ph.D.

Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Judith and Burton P. Resnick Chair in Alzheimer's Disease Research

Scientific Director of the Litwin-Zucker Center for the Study of Alzheimer's Disease and Memory Disorders, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research
350 Community Drive
Manhasset, NY 11030

Tel: 516.562.3492
Fax: 516.562.0401
pdavies@northwell.edu

Rolf Dermietzel, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3413
rolf.dermietzel@ruhr-uni-bochum.de

Kostantin Dobrenis, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 618
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4027
kostantin.dobrenis@einstein.yu.edu

Terry L. Dowd, Ph.D.

CUNY, Brooklyn College
2900 Bedford Avenue
New Ingersoll Building
Room: 359
Brooklyn, NY 11210

Tel: 718.951.5000
Fax: 718.951.4607
tdowd@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Areas of Research: Gap junction physiology, High Resolution Connexin N-terminal peptide structure, NMR structure determination of proteins and peptides, Connexin 26 and deafness, Connexin 32 and Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease

Eno E. Ebong, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 840
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2570
Fax: 718.430.8594
eno.ebong@einstein.yu.edu

Scott W. Emmons, Ph.D.

Scott W. Emmons, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Genetics

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Siegfried Ullmann Chair in Molecular Genetics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 703
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3130
Fax: 718.430.8778
scott.emmons@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: C. elegans connectomics; nervous system development; specification of synaptic connectivity, neural cell adhesion proteins; sexual dimorphism of the nervous system.

Anne M. Etgen, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 113
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3662
Fax: 718.430.8654
anne.etgen@einstein.yu.edu

Donald S. Faber, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 429
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2511
Fax: 718.430.8821
donald.faber@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Basic mechanisms, regulation and plasticity of synaptic transmission, microcircuits and behavior, intrinsic membrane properties, neurodegeneration and murine models of nervous system disorders.

Alan Finkelstein, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 203
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3169
alan.finkelstein@einstein.yu.edu

Yonatan I. Fishman, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 915
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4110
yonatan.fishman@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Cortical mechanisms of auditory perception

John J. Foxe, Ph.D.

John J. Foxe, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Pediatrics (Developmental Medicine)

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Director of Research of the Children's Evaluation and Rehabilitation Center, Department of Pediatrics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Van Etten, Room: 1C-3C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.862.1822
Fax: 718.862.1807
john.foxe@einstein.yu.edu

Anna Francesconi, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 706
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2258
Fax: 718.430.8821
anna.francesconi@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Functions of metabotropic glutamatergic signaling in neuronal plasticity and homeostasis; impact of mGluR-interacting proteins and lipids on synaptic functions in animal models of Fragile X syndrome, autism and schizophrenia

Lloyd D. Fricker, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 248
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4225
lloyd.fricker@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Neuropeptides and other peptides that function in intercellular and intracellular signaling; peptidases that generate biologically active peptides.

Antonio Frigeri, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 840
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2570
antonio.frigeri@einstein.yu.edu

Aristea S. Galanopoulou, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 306
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3791
Fax: 718.430.8899
aristea.galanopoulou@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Role of GABAA signaling and the mTOR pathway in epileptogenesis and brain development; early life seizures; infantile spasms; preclinical therapy discovery for epilepsy; post-traumatic epilepsy; Rett syndrome

J. Tiago Goncalves, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 236
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8524
Fax: 718.430.8821
tiago.goncalves@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Adult neurogenesis Neuronal development Learning and Memory Aging

Maria E. Gulinello, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 925
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4042
Fax: 718.430.8821
maria.gulinello@einstein.yu.edu

David H. Hall, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
Fax: 718.430.2514
david.hall@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Connectomics, ciliogenesis, genetic control of axon guidance, axonal transport, and neuronal cell fate in Caenorhabditis elegans, tubulogenesis in nematode epithelia, anatomy of aging in nematode tissues, new methods in EM

Menachem Hanani, Ph.D.

Hadassah University Hospital
Mount Scopus
Jerusalem, 91240


hananim@cc.huji.ac.il

Jean M. Hebert, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 237
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3494
jean.hebert@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Understanding how embryonic neural precursors generate the neocortex, the seat of our highest cognitive functions, and devising methods of regenerating the principle neurons of the adult neocortex when they are lost.

Laura A. Herndon, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 612
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
laura.herndon@einstein.yu.edu

Asao Hirano, M.D.

Montefiore Medical Center
111 East 210th Street
Central Building, Room: 213
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.4447
ahirano@montefiore.org

Noboru Hiroi, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 104
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3124
Fax: 718.430.3125
noboru.hiroi@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Genetic, cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying dimensional aspects of schizophrenia, autism spectrum disorder and intellectual disability

Jee Yeon Hwang, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 610
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2160
Fax: 718.430.8821
jee-yeon.hwang@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: The role of epigenetic modifications of genes involved in synaptic function, plasticity and neuronal survival under physiological conditions and how dysregulation of these genes contribute to neurological disorders.

Dumitru A. Iacobas, Ph.D.

New York Medical College
15 Dana Road
BSB Building
Room: 410
Valhalla, NY 10595

Tel: 914.594.3930
dumitru_iacobas@nymc.edu

Daniel C. Javitt, M.D., Ph.D.

Nathan Kline Institute
140 Old Orangeburg Road
Room: S235A
Orangeburg, NY 10962

Tel: 845.398.6534
javitt@nki.rfmh.org

Bryen A. Jordan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 825
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2675
bryen.jordan@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Synaptic plasticity; RNA transport and local translation in neurons; synapse-to-nucleus signaling; Proteomic analysis of the dynamics of synaptic junctions; molecular mechanisms underlying neuropsychiatric disorders.

Wenfei Kang, Ph.D.

CUNY School of Medicine
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031


wenfei.kang@einstein.yu.edu

Zaven Kaprielian, Ph.D.

AMGEN
360 Binney Street
Building AMA1
Room: 7K14
Cambridge, MA 02141

Tel: 617.445.5580
zavenk@amgen.com

Adam Kohn, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 822
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2417
Fax: 718.430.8821
adam.kohn@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: My lab studies visual processing, with a focus on issues of rapid cortical plasticity, population coding, and inter-areal communication. We use neurophysiological, computational and behavioral methods in our work.