Faculty

Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Department Chair

Kamran Khodakhah, Ph.D.

Kamran Khodakhah, Ph.D.

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Professor, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology

Chair Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Florence and Irving Rubinstein Chair in Neuroscience

Vice Chair for Research Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 903
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3794
Fax: 718.430.8821
k.khodakhah@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Cerebellar physiology and function; Motor coordination and movement disorders; Cerebellar contribution to non-motor functions, Autism, schizophrenia, addiction and migraine; Neuronal Excitability and Synaptic transmission.

All Faculty

Myles Akabas, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 209
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3360
Fax: 718.430.8819
myles.akabas@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Malaria parasite membrane transport physiology; mechanisms of purine and drug transport; development of novel antimalarial drugs that target the primary malaria purine import transporter

Zeynep F. Altun, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
zeynep.altun@einstein.yu.edu

Joseph C. Arezzo, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 322
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2468
Fax: 718.430.8588
joseph.arezzo@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Studies of peripheral neuropathy in mice, rats, and monkeys. Spinal Cord and cortical cord physiology. EEG studies of seizure and pre-seizure patterns Assessment of toxic neuropathies Human multicenter clinical trials

Michael Aschner, Ph.D.

Michael Aschner, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Molecular Pharmacology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Harold & Muriel Block Chair in Molecular Pharmacology

Director, Einstein Center of Toxicology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 209
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2317
Fax: 718.430.8922
michael.aschner@einstein.yu.edu

Anita E. Autry-Dixon, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 301
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2370
Fax: 718.430.8821
anita.autry@einstein.yu.edu

Praveen Ballabh, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 724A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3853
Fax: 718.430.8821
praveen.ballabh@einstein.yu.edu

Thaddeus A. Bargiello, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 518
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2575
ted.bargiello@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Structure-function relations and voltage-driven conformational changes of connexin ion channels by combined electrophysiological, biochemical, structural and computational approaches.

Renata A. Batista-Brito, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 203
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8507
Fax: 718.430.8821
renata.batista@einstein.yu.edu

Michael V. L. Bennett, D.Phil.

Michael V. L. Bennett, D.Phil.

Distinguished Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Sylvia and Robert S. Olnick Chair in Neuroscience

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 724
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2536
michael.bennett@einstein.yu.edu

Aviv Bergman, Ph.D.

Aviv Bergman, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Systems & Computational Biology

Professor, Department of Pathology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Chair Department of Systems & Computational Biology

Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Systems & Computational Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 153C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1063
Fax: 718.678.1018
aviv.bergman@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: My research agenda addresses quantitative problems in evolutionary systems and developmental biology by using a combination of computational, mathematical and experimental tools, as it pertains to complex traits.

Celia Fildes Brosnan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 520
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2140
celia.brosnan@einstein.yu.edu

Lucy L. Brown, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 125F
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3728
Fax: 718.430.3266
lucy.brown@einstein.yu.edu

Hannes E. Buelow, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 709
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3621
Fax: 718.430.8778
hannes.buelow@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Neural patterning with a focus on extracellular matrices using the nematode Caenorhabditis elegans; Glycosaminoglycans in development as well as health and disease.

Herman Buschke, M.D.

Herman Buschke, M.D.

Professor, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Lena and Joseph Gluck Distinguished Scholar in Neurology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1225 Morris Park Avenue
Van Etten, Room: 3C5
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3846
herman.buschke@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Alzheimer's disease Dementia Memory Cognition

Antonio Campos De Carvalho, M.D., Ph.D.

Brigadeiro Trompovsk
IBCCF, Sala #G2-043
Ilha do Fundao
Rio de Janeiro, 21949900


acarlos@bio.ufrj.br

Reed C. Carroll, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 905
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2413
Fax: 718.430.8821
rcarroll@njcu.edu

Pablo E. Castillo, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 701
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3263
pablo.castillo@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Excitatory and inhibitory synaptic transmission and plasticity under physiological and brain disease conditions, such as Alzheimer’s disease, epilepsy, autism, schizophrenia and drug abuse

Andres E. Chavez Navarrete, M.Sc., Ph.D.

Universidad de Valparaiso
Avenida Gran Bretana 1111
Casilla 5029, Correo 4
Valparaiso,


andres.chavez@uv.cl

Streamson C. Chua, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 511
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2986
Fax: 718.430.8557
streamson.chua@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Hypothalamic regulation of energy balance and feeding; Melanocortin regulation of fertility and reproduction; FGF signaling and glucose control; Leptin and leptin receptor models of obesity and diabetes;

Ruben Coen Cagli, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 353B
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1150
ruben.coen-cagli@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: We study neural computation to advance understanding of how the brain produces perceptual experiences. Key research topics: neural coding and perceptual segmentation of natural images; perceptual variability and uncertainty.

Peter Davies, Ph.D.

Peter Davies, Ph.D.

Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Scientific Director of the Litwin-Zucker Center for the Study of Alzheimer's Disease and Memory Disorders, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research

The Feinstein Institute for Medical Research
350 Community Drive
Manhasset, NY 11030

Tel: 516.562.3492
Fax: 516.562.0401
pdavies@northwell.edu

Kostantin Dobrenis, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 618
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4027
kostantin.dobrenis@einstein.yu.edu

Eno E. Ebong, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 840
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2570
Fax: 718.430.8594
eno.ebong@einstein.yu.edu

Scott W. Emmons, Ph.D.

Scott W. Emmons, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Genetics

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Siegfried Ullmann Chair in Molecular Genetics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 703
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3130
Fax: 718.430.8778
scott.emmons@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: C. elegans connectomics; nervous system development; specification of synaptic connectivity, neural cell adhesion proteins; sexual dimorphism of the nervous system.

Emad N. Eskandar, M.D.

Emad N. Eskandar, M.D.

Professor, The Leo M. Davidoff Department of Neurological Surgery

Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Chair The Leo M. Davidoff Department of Neurological Surgery

Jeffrey P. Bergstein Chair in Neurological Surgery The Leo M. Davidoff Department of Neurological Surgery

Montefiore Medical Center
3316 Rochambeau Avenue
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.7099
Fax: 718.515.8235
emad.eskandar@einstein.yu.edu

Anne M. Etgen, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 113
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3662
Fax: 718.430.8654
anne.etgen@einstein.yu.edu

Donald S. Faber, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 429
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2511
Fax: 718.430.8821
donald.faber@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Basic mechanisms, regulation and plasticity of synaptic transmission, microcircuits and behavior, intrinsic membrane properties, neurodegeneration and murine models of nervous system disorders.

Francesco Fazio, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 610
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2160
francesco.fazio@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Impact of cinnabarinic acid and xanthurenic acid, unorthodox metabolites of the kynurenine pathway (acting at metabotropic glutamate receptors), on signaling in neurons in vitro and ultimately in mouse models of schizophrenia

Alan Finkelstein, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 203
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3169
alan.finkelstein@einstein.yu.edu

Yonatan I. Fishman, Ph.D.

Yonatan I. Fishman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology

Assistant Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Co-Director, Nervous System and Human Behavior Course

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 915
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4110
yonatan.fishman@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Cortical mechanisms of auditory perception

John J. Foxe, Ph.D.

John J. Foxe, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Pediatrics (Developmental Medicine)

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Director of Research of the Children's Evaluation and Rehabilitation Center Department of Pediatrics

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Van Etten, Room: 1C-3C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.862.1822
Fax: 718.862.1807
john.foxe@einstein.yu.edu

Anna Francesconi, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 706
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2258
Fax: 718.430.8821
anna.francesconi@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Functions of metabotropic glutamatergic signaling in neuronal plasticity and homeostasis; impact of mGluR-interacting proteins and lipids on synaptic functions in animal models of Fragile X syndrome, autism and schizophrenia

Lloyd D. Fricker, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 248
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4225
lloyd.fricker@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Neuropeptides and other peptides that function in intercellular and intracellular signaling; peptidases that generate biologically active peptides.

Antonio Frigeri, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 840
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2570
antonio.frigeri@einstein.yu.edu

Aristea S. Galanopoulou, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 306
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3791
Fax: 718.430.8899
aristea.galanopoulou@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Development of antiepileptogenic and disease modifying therapies for post-traumatic epilepsies; Mechanisms and treatments for epileptic encephalopathies; age and sex specific epileptogenesis; models of lissencephaly

J. Tiago Goncalves, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 236
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8524
Fax: 718.430.8821
tiago.goncalves@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Adult neurogenesis, Neuronal development, Learning and Memory, Aging

Maria E. Gulinello, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 925
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4042
Fax: 718.430.8821
maria.gulinello@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Behavioral neuroscience , biological basis of behavior, cognition, social behavior, emotion, pain and analgesia, anxiety, depression, ultrasonic vocalizations

David H. Hall, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
Fax: 718.430.2514
david.hall@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Connectomics, ciliogenesis, genetic control of axon guidance, axonal transport, and neuronal cell fate in Caenorhabditis elegans, tubulogenesis in nematode epithelia, anatomy of aging in nematode tissues, new methods in EM

Menachem Hanani, Ph.D.

Hadassah University Hospital
Mount Scopus
Jerusalem, 91240


hananim@cc.huji.ac.il

Jean M. Hebert, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 237
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3494
jean.hebert@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Devising methods of cell replacement for the adult neocortex when its cells are lost due to damage or age-related degeneration.

Christopher A. Henry, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 822
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2418
Fax: 718.430.8821
christopher.henry@einstein.yu.edu

Laura A. Herndon, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 612
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2195
laura.herndon@einstein.yu.edu

Dumitru A. Iacobas, Ph.D.

New York Medical College
15 Dana Road
BSB Building
Room: 410
Valhalla, NY 10595

Tel: 914.594.3930
dumitru_iacobas@nymc.edu

Daniel C. Javitt, M.D., Ph.D.

Nathan Kline Institute
140 Old Orangeburg Road
Room: S235A
Orangeburg, NY 10962

Tel: 845.398.6534
javitt@nki.rfmh.org

Bryen A. Jordan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 825
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2675
bryen.jordan@einstein.yu.edu

Teresa Jover-Mengual, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 610
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2160
Fax: 718.430.8821
teresa.jover-mengual@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Molecular and cellular events in the cascade of ischemic brain damage and neuroprotection in experimental stroke animal models.

Zaven Kaprielian, Ph.D.

AMGEN
360 Binney Street
Building AMA1
Room: 7K14
Cambridge, MA 02141

Tel: 617.445.5580
zavenk@amgen.com

Adam Kohn, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 822
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2417
Fax: 718.430.8821
adam.kohn@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: My lab studies visual processing, with a focus on issues of rapid cortical plasticity, population coding, and inter-areal communication. We use neurophysiological, computational and behavioral methods in our work.

Henri Korn, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Room: 429E
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3405

Peri Kurshan, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Rose F. Kennedy Center
1410 Pelham Parkway South
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3631
Fax: 718.430.8821
peri.kurshan@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: synaptic development, synaptogenesis, synapse function, molecular neuroscience, cellular neurobiology, synaptic cell biology, C. elegans, genetics, development