Primary Care & Social Internal Medicine Residency

Primary Care & Social Internal Medicine Program Faculty

"I feel the faculty is committed to my development as a physician and leader, and to providing the highest level of care to underserved populations."

Minesh Shah, Program Graduate
Clinical Educator, University of Illinois Medical Center

The core faculty for the Primary Care/Social Internal Medicine Program serves as core teachers in the Department of Medicine. All have developed careers in medical education and are dedicated to underserved communities.

The diversity of faculty interests serves to enrich the program’s innovative curriculum. Our faculty has expertise in clinical epidemiology, clinical reasoning, evidence-based medicine, screening and prevention, behavioral and psychosocial medicine, global health, human rights, women’s health, musculoskeletal medicine, community-oriented primary care, liberation medicine, physical diagnosis, addiction medicine, HIV and pain medicine.

All faculty members act as clinical preceptors, with the ratio of residents to full-time preceptors in clinic less than 4:1.

Program Leadership

Erin J. Goss, MD, AAHIVS
Program Co-Director


Shwetha V. Iyer, MD
Program Co-Director


PC/SM Faculty


Robert Beil, MD, AAHIVS 


Linnea Capps, MD, MPH 


Chinazo Cunningham, MD, MS  


Joseph Deluca, MD 


Aaron Fox, MD 


Gloria Fung-Chaw, MD 


Felise Milan, MD  


Noriyuki Murakami, MD  


Brianna Norton, DO 


Jerry Paccione, MD  


Amit R. Patel, MD, MPH 


Viraj Patel, MD, MPH 


Lisa Reeves, MD  


Calie Santana, MD, MHS 


Lauren Shapiro, MD 


Joanna Starrels, MD, MS  


Deborah Swiderski, MD  


Laura J. Van Metre, MD  


Upcoming Grand Rounds

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Why Incarceration Matters for Medical Care
Aaron Fox, MD & Ross MacDonald, MD
8:00 AM: 3rd Floor Lecture Hall

Contact Us

Erin J. Goss, MD, AAHIVS
Program Co-Director  

Shwetha V. Iyer, MD
Program Co-Director 

Josephine Byfield
Program Administrator
718 920-2627 

more info 

Click here to log in