Einstein/Montefiore Department of Medicine

The Einstein-Montefiore Merger

In 1980, the Departments of Medicine at Einstein and Montefiore were merged (the other clinical departments were also merged over the next several years). The chairmen of these combined clinical departments became responsible for the teaching, research, and clinical activities at Einstein, Montefiore, and Jacobi, as well as providing academic oversight of the departments at all of Einstein’s other affiliated institutions, including Bronx-Lebanon and North Central Bronx Hospitals.

In 1980, Louis Sherwood became the first Chairman of the unified Department of Medicine. He left in 1987 to work at Merck, and until recently was their Senior Vice President of United States Medical and Scientific Affairs. James Scheuer became Acting Chairman in 1987 and Chairman in 1990. In June 1999, he relinquished the arduous administrative responsibilities and returned to teaching and research, and Philip Lief was the Acting Chairman during the rest of 1999. John Hardin became Chairman in January 2000, relinquished the role in 2002 to return to research and teaching, and was succeeded in late 2002 by Victor L. Schuster.

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
Belfer Building - Room 1008
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461 (directions)

Physicians and Patients:
866-MED-TALK (866-633-8255)

Internal Medicine Residency Program:

Administrative Questions:
Fax: 718-430-8659

Click here to log in