Loading Navigation...

Department of Biochemistry

Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Co-Chair

John S. Condeelis, Ph.D.

John S. Condeelis, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Chair, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

The Judith and Burton P. Resnick Chair in Translational Research, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Gruss-Lipper Biophotonics Center

Co-Director, Integrated Imaging Program

Director, Tumor Microenvironment and Metastasis Program, AECC

Scientific Director, Analytical Imaging Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 220
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1126
john.condeelis@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Interests are in optical physics, cell biology and biophysics, cancer biology and mouse models of cancer. Development of the multiphoton imaging technology used to identify intravasation microenvironments in metastatic tumors

Co-Chair

Robert H. Singer, Ph.D.

Robert H. Singer, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Cell Biology

Co-Chair, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Gruss-Lipper Biophotonics Center

Co-Director, Integrated Imaging Program

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8646
Fax: 718.430.8697
robert.singer@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: We study single mRNA molecules from cradle to grave in single living cells using high resolution imaging. We develop trafficking microscopy and approaches to image RNA using fluorescent probes to visualize and quantify mRNA.

All Faculty

Seyed H. Aharinejad, M.D., Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Chanin Building, Room: 507
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2344
Fax: 718.430.8567
seyed.aharinejad@einstein.yu.edu

Beth A. Breakstone, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
beth.breakstone@einstein.yu.edu

Robert A. Coleman, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8623
Fax: 718.430.8996
robert.coleman2@einstein.yu.edu

Richard G. Cotty, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
richard.cotty@einstein.yu.edu

Dianne Cox, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
MRRC, Room: 306A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4005
dianne.cox@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Macrophages are important in immune function but they can also play negative roles, such as in chronic inflammatory disease, and in cancer progression. Our lab studies the mechanisms of macrophage recruitment and function.

Ana Maria Cuervo, M.D., Ph.D.

Ana Maria Cuervo, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Developmental & Molecular Biology

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology & Liver Diseases)

Robert and Renée Belfer Chair for the Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Chanin Building, Room: 504
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2689
Fax: 718.430.8975
ana-maria.cuervo@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Understanding the molecular basis of malfunctioning of autophagy (cellular quality control system) with age and the contribution of defects on this cellular pathway to neurodegeneration, metabolic disorders and cancer

Vera M. Desmarais, Ph.D.

Vera M. Desmarais, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Light Microscopy and Image Analysis, Analytical Imaging Faciltiy, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 641
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3547
Fax: 718.430.8996
vera.desmarais@einstein.yu.edu

Zheng Dong, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
yz.dong@gmail.com

Kathy J. Dooley, D.C.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
kathy.dooley@einstein.yu.edu

Sherry A. Downie, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2895
Fax: 718.430.8996
sherry.downie@einstein.yu.edu

Daria Dykyj, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
daria.dykyj@einstein.yu.edu

Robert J. Eddy, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 218
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1133
Fax: 718.678.1128
robert.eddy@einstein.yu.edu

Carolina Eliscovich, Ph.D.

Carolina Eliscovich, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine (Gastroenterology & Liver Diseases)

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 614
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4360
carolina.eliscovich@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: We study single mRNA molecules in single cells using high resolution imaging techniques. We develop microscopy technology using fluorescent-labeled probes to visualize and quantify mRNAs within the cell and tissue.

David R. Entenberg, M.Sc.

David R. Entenberg, M.Sc.

Senior Associate, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director, Technology Development, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director, Integrated Imaging Program, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 202
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1116
david.entenberg@einstein.yu.edu

Mark A. Erlich, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SA
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
mark.erlich1@einstein.yu.edu

Herschel Flax, M.B.,Ch.B.

9 East 63rd Street
New York, NY 10021

Tel: 212.755.3833
Fax: 212.832.9279

Arne Gennerich, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4287
Fax: 718.430.8996
arne.gennerich@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Molecular mechanisms of microtubule-based motor proteins in health and disease, single-molecule biophysics, development and application of single-molecule fluorescence and optical tweezers technology.

Sumanta Goswami, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 212.960.0130
Fax: 212.960.5399
sumanta.goswami@einstein.yu.edu

Peng Guo, Ph.D.

Peng Guo, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Light Microscopy and Image Analysis, Analytical Imaging Faciltiy, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3547
peng.guo@einstein.yu.edu

Rhoda E. Hirsch, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 925
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3604
rhoda.hirsch@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Hemoglobinopathies (e.g., HbE/beta- thalassemia, sickle cell disease) and basic pathophysiological mechanisms underlying these morbid & often fatal diseases with a focus on therapeutic design.

Louis Hodgson, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1027
Fax: 718.678.1019
louis.hodgson@einstein.yu.edu

Joan G. Jones, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2836
joan.jones@einstein.yu.edu

Andrii Kaberniuk, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus ~ Ruth L. Gottesman Clinical Skills Ctr.
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 1217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2127
andrii.kaberniuk@einstein.yu.edu

Ahmed Naseem Khan, M.B.B.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
ahmed.khan@einstein.yu.edu

Sam Lan, Ph.D., M.B.,Ch.B.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
scalpill2@aol.com

Hyungsik Lim, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8646
hyungsik.lim@hunter.cuny.edu

Wei-Li Liu, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628D
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2876
Fax: 718.430.8996
wei-li.liu@einstein.yu.edu

Elisabeth K.N. Lopez, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
elisabeth.lopez@einstein.yu.edu

Frank P. Macaluso, M.Sc.

Frank P. Macaluso, M.Sc.

Senior Associate, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director, Electron Microscopy, Analytical Imaging Facility

Administrative Director, Analytical Imaging Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 641A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3547
frank.macaluso@einstein.yu.edu

U. Thomas Meier, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 650
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3294
Fax: 718.430.8996
tom.meier@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: molecular pathogenesis of the bone marrow failure syndrome dyskeratosis congenita, biogenesis of small nucleolar ribonucleoproteins, characterization of a nuclear organelle as marker for the endometrial window of implantation

Priti L. Mishall, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SA
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3423
Fax: 718.430.8996
priti.mishall@einstein.yu.edu

Maria C. Moschella, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
maria.moschella@einstein.yu.edu

John W. Murray, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 517
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2584
john.murray@einstein.yu.edu

Maja H. Oktay, M.D., Ph.D.

Montefiore Medical Center
111 East 210th Street
Hofheimer Main, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.4269
Fax: 718.515.5315
moktay@montefiore.org

Todd R. Olson, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SC
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2847
Fax: 718.430.8997
todd.olson@einstein.yu.edu

Irwin Pesetsky, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3054

Stephanie E. Rand, D.O.

Montefiore Medical Center
150 East 210th Street
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.2751
Fax: 718.920.5048
srand@montefiore.org

Lu Rao, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3446
Fax: 718.430.8996
lu.rao@einstein.yu.edu

Michael S. Risley, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2389
Fax: 718.430.8996
michael.risley@einstein.yu.edu

Santosh Sangari, M.B.B.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
santosh.sangari@einstein.yu.edu

Birgit H. Satir, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 907
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4063
Fax: 718.430.8996
birgit.satir@einstein.yu.edu

Peter Satir, Ph.D.

Peter Satir, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 602
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4061
peter.satir@einstein.yu.edu

Hanae Sato, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 108
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1279
Fax: 718.678.1016
hanae.sato@einstein.yu.edu

Jeffrey E. Segall, Ph.D.

Jeffrey E. Segall, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Department of Pathology

Betty and Sheldon Feinberg Senior Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 201
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1109
Fax: 718.678.1019
jeffrey.segall@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: mechanisms of tumor cell invasion, intravasation and metastasis; macrophage tumor cell interactions; breast cancer; head and neck cancer; glioblastoma; intravital imaging; KIF9; APOE; cholesterol; neuregulin; JAG1; miR-375

Ved P. Sharma, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1132
ved.sharma@einstein.yu.edu

Daria Shcherbakova, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 1217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2127
Fax: 718.430.8996
daria.shcherbakova@einstein.yu.edu

Shailesh M. Shenoy, B.S.

Shailesh M. Shenoy, B.S.

Senior Associate, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director of Engineering & Operations for the Gruss Lipper Biophotonics Center

Director of Engineering & Operations for the Integrated Imaging Program

Director, Office of Research Computing

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 604A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3232
Fax: 718.430.8996
shailesh.shenoy@einstein.yu.edu

Herbert Michael Silber, D.D.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
herbert.silber@einstein.yu.edu

Inder J. Singh, Ph.D., D.D.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
inder.singh@einstein.yu.edu

Maria Vera Ugalde, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8612
Fax: 718.430.8996
maria.vera@einstein.yu.edu

Areas of Research: Dr. Vera Ugalde develops single molecule technologies to vitalize mRNAs and comprehend how eukaryotic cells manage the expression of the molecular chaperones upon stress.

Click here to log in