Loading Navigation...

Department of Anatomy and Structural Biology

Name
Contact Information
Research Information

Co-Chair

John S. Condeelis, Ph.D.

John S. Condeelis, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Department of Surgery

Co-Chair Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

The Judith and Burton P. Resnick Chair in Translational Research Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Gruss-Lipper Biophotonics Center

Co-Director, Integrated Imaging Program

Director, Tumor Microenvironment and Metastasis Program AECC

Scientific Director, Analytical Imaging Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 220
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1126
Fax: 718.678.1128
john.condeelis@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Interests are in optical physics, cell biology and biophysics, cancer biology and mouse models of cancer. Development of the multiphoton imaging technology used to identify intravasation microenvironments in metastatic tumors

Co-Chair

Robert H. Singer, Ph.D.

Robert H. Singer, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience

Professor, Department of Cell Biology

Co-Chair Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Harold and Muriel Block Chair in Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Gruss-Lipper Biophotonics Center

Co-Director, Integrated Imaging Program

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8646
Fax: 718.430.8697
robert.singer@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: We study single mRNA molecules from cradle to grave in single living cells using high resolution imaging. We develop trafficking microscopy and approaches to image RNA using fluorescent probes to visualize and quantify mRNA.

Full-Time Faculty

Mikhail Baloban, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 1217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2127
mikhail.baloban@einstein.yu.edu

Robert A. Coleman, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8623
Fax: 718.430.8996
robert.coleman2@einsteinmed.org

Dianne Cox, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 201
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1066
dianne.cox@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Macrophages are important in immune function but they can also play negative roles, such as in chronic inflammatory disease, and in cancer progression. Our lab studies the mechanisms of macrophage recruitment and function.

Ana Maria Cuervo, M.D., Ph.D.

Ana Maria Cuervo, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Developmental & Molecular Biology

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Department of Medicine (Hepatology)

Robert and Renée Belfer Chair for the Study of Neurodegenerative Diseases

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Chanin Building, Room: 504
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2689
Fax: 718.430.8975
ana-maria.cuervo@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Understanding the molecular basis of malfunctioning of autophagy (cellular quality control system) with age and the contribution of defects on this cellular pathway to neurodegeneration, metabolic disorders and cancer

Sulagna Das, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8598
sulagna.das@einstein.yu.edu

Vera M. DesMarais, Ph.D.

Vera M. DesMarais, Ph.D.

Research Associate Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Co-Director, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology Light Microscopy and Image Analysis Analytical Imaging Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 641
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3547
Fax: 718.430.8996
vera.desmarais@einsteinmed.org

Sherry A. Downie, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2895
Fax: 718.430.8996
sherry.downie@einsteinmed.org

Robert J. Eddy, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 218
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1133
Fax: 718.678.1128
robert.eddy@einsteinmed.org

Carolina Eliscovich, Ph.D.

Carolina Eliscovich, Ph.D.

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine (Hepatology)

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 614
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3052
carolina.eliscovich@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: We develop microscopy technology using fluorescent-labeled probes to visualize gene expression in cells and tissue. Our goal is to investigate key molecules and pathways of liver regeneration and elucidate failures of these pathways in liver pathologies.

David R. Entenberg, Ph.D.

David R. Entenberg, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director of Engineering & Operations for the Gruss Lipper Biophotonics Center

Director of Engineering & Operations for the Integrated Imaging Program

Director of Technological Development Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director of Integrated Imaging Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 202
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1116
david.entenberg@einsteinmed.org

Arne Gennerich, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628C
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4287
Fax: 718.430.8996
arne.gennerich@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Molecular mechanisms of microtubule-based motor proteins in health and disease, single-molecule biophysics, development and application of single-molecule fluorescence and optical tweezers technology.

Louis Hodgson, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1027
Fax: 718.678.1019
louis.hodgson@einsteinmed.org

Georgios Karagiannis, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1131
georgios.karagiannis@einsteinmed.org

Frank P. Macaluso, M.Sc.

Frank P. Macaluso, M.Sc.

Senior Associate, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Director, Electron Microscopy Analytical Imaging Facility

Administrative Director, Analytical Imaging Facility

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 641A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3547
frank.macaluso@einsteinmed.org

U. Thomas Meier, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 650
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3294
Fax: 718.430.8996
tom.meier@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: molecular pathogenesis of the bone marrow failure syndrome dyskeratosis congenita, biogenesis of small nucleolar ribonucleoproteins, characterization of a nuclear organelle as marker for the endometrial window of implantation

Priti L. Mishall, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SD
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3423
Fax: 718.430.8996
priti.mishall@einsteinmed.org

John W. Murray, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 519
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3466
Fax: 718.430.8975
john.murray@einsteinmed.org

Maja H. Oktay, M.D., Ph.D.

Montefiore Medical Center
111 East 210th Street
Hofheimer Main, Room: 409
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.4269
Fax: 718.515.5315
moktay@montefiore.org

Adi Pinkas, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SE
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4260
Fax: 718.430.8996
adi.pinkas@einstein.yu.edu

Stephanie E. Rand, D.O.

Montefiore Medical Center
150 East 210th Street
Bronx, NY 10467

Tel: 718.920.2751
Fax: 718.920.5048
srand@montefiore.org

Lu Rao, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 628
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3446
Fax: 718.430.8996
lu.rao@einsteinmed.org

Michael S. Risley, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2389
Fax: 718.430.8996
michael.risley@einsteinmed.org

Hanae Sato, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 601
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8636
Fax: 718.430.8637
hanae.sato@einsteinmed.org

Jeffrey E. Segall, Ph.D.

Jeffrey E. Segall, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Professor, Department of Pathology

Betty and Sheldon Feinberg Senior Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 250B
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1109
Fax: 718.678.1019
jeffrey.segall@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: mechanisms of tumor cell invasion, intravasation and metastasis; macrophage tumor cell interactions; breast cancer; head and neck cancer; glioblastoma; intravital imaging; KIF9; APOE; cholesterol; neuregulin; JAG1; miR-375

Ved P. Sharma, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1132
ved.sharma@einsteinmed.org

Daria Shcherbakova, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 1217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2127
Fax: 718.430.8996
daria.shcherbakova@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Protein engineering; Optogenetics; Neural activity reporters.

Shailesh M. Shenoy, B.S.

Shailesh M. Shenoy, B.S.

Senior Associate, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Assistant Dean for Einstein Information Technology

Director, Office of Research Computing

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Golding Building, Room: 604A
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3232
Fax: 718.430.8996
shailesh.shenoy@einsteinmed.org

Vladislav Verkhusha, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 1217
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.8591
vladislav.verkhusha@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Engineering of fluorescent proteins and biosensors for super-resolution microscopy and deep-tissue imaging. Designing of genetically encoded optogenetic tools for manipulation of biological processes with light in vivo.

Allan W. Wolkoff, M.D.

Allan W. Wolkoff, M.D.

Professor, Department of Medicine (Hepatology)

Professor, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Associate Chair for Research Department of Medicine

Herman Lopata Chair in Liver Disease Research

Chief, Department of Medicine Division of Hepatology

Director, Marion Bessin Liver Research Center

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 517
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3798
allan.wolkoff@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Hepatocyte cell biology: mechanisms of microtubule-based subcellular trafficking of transporters and receptors including the roles of molecular motors and accessory proteins

Young J. Yoon, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 506
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2836
young.yoon@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Mechanisms of dendritic RNA localization and local protein synthesis; structural plasticity of spines; single molecule imaging of RNA and proteins; visualizing intracellular translation in real-time.

Voluntary Faculty

Beth A. Breakstone, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
beth.breakstone@einsteinmed.org

Salvatore J. Coniglio, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 207
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.678.1110
salvatore.coniglio@einstein.yu.edu

Richard G. Cotty, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
richard.cotty@einsteinmed.org

Cheryl A. Delbridge, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
cheryl.delbridge@einstein.yu.edu

Zheng Dong, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
yz.dong@gmail.com

Kathy J. Dooley, D.C.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
Kathy.Dooley@einsteinmed.org

Mark A. Erlich, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SA
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
mark.erlich1@einsteinmed.org

Herschel Flax, M.B.,Ch.B.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620-SA
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
herschel.flax@einstein.yu.edu

Sumanta Goswami, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Michael F. Price Center
1301 Morris Park Avenue
Room: 208
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 212.960.0130
Fax: 212.960.5399
sumanta.goswami@einstein.yu.edu

Rhoda Elison Hirsch, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 925
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.3604
rhoda.hirsch@einsteinmed.org

Areas of Research: Hemoglobinopathies (e.g., HbE/beta-thalassemia, sickle cell disease, HbC Disease) & pathophysiological mechanisms underlying these morbid & often fatal diseases with a focus on therapeutic design. Acellular giant Hb as a HBOC

Joan G. Jones, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2836
joan.jones@einsteinmed.org

Alan B. Kravitz, M.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SA
Bronx, NY 10461


alan.kravitz@einstein.yu.edu

Sam Lan, Ph.D., M.B.,Ch.B.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
scalpill2@aol.com

Elisabeth K.N. Lopez, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
elisabeth.lopez@einsteinmed.org

Maria C. Moschella, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
maria.moschella@einsteinmed.org

Todd R. Olson, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 214.484.1347
todd.olson@einsteinmed.org

Shaina N. Reid, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620SA
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8997
shaina.reid@einsteinmed.org

Birgit H. Satir, Ph.D.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Ullmann Building, Room: 907
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4063
Fax: 718.430.8996
birgit.satir@einsteinmed.org

Peter Satir, Ph.D.

Peter Satir, Ph.D.

Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 602
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.4061
peter.satir@einsteinmed.org

Herbert Michael Silber, D.D.S.

Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Jack and Pearl Resnick Campus
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Forchheimer Building, Room: 620S
Bronx, NY 10461

Tel: 718.430.2973
Fax: 718.430.8996
herbert.silber@einsteinmed.org

Click here to log in