Diversity Mentoring

Past Recipients of the Faculty Mentoring Awards

This is an award given to senior faculty who, with distinction, have mentored Einstein junior faculty in their career development. Two awards are given yearly, one to a faculty member whose primary appointment is in a basic science department and a second to a faculty member whose primary appointment is in a clinical department.  Dean Allen Spiegel presents the award annually.

The recipients of the 2011 Mentoring Awards


Richard Lipton, M.D.
Professor and Vice Chair, The Saul R. Korey Department of Neurology  

Dr. Richard Lipton
Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Richard Lipton (Right)

Basic Science 

John Condeelis, Ph.D.
Professor and Co-Chair, Department of Anatomy & Structural Biology  

Dr. John Condeelis
Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. John Condeelis (Right)


The recipients of the 2010 Mentoring Awards


Sylvia Wassertheil-Smoller, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Population Health  

Dr. Smoller Award
Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Sylvia Wassertheil-Smoller (Right)


Basic Science 

Anne M. Etgen, Ph.D. 
Professor, Departments of Neuroscience, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and Pediatrics 

Etgen Award
Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Anne M. Etgen (Right)


The recipients of the 2009 Mentoring Awards


Julia H. Arnsten, M.D., M.P.H. 
Professor, Department of Medicine, Epidemiology and Population Health, and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences  

Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Julia Arnsten (Middle), Dr. Victor Schuster (Right)

Basic Science 

Donald S. Faber, Ph.D. 
Professor and Chair, Dominick P. Purpura Department of Neuroscience  

Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Donald Faber (Middle), Dr. Kamran Khodakhah (Right)


The recipients of the 2008 Mentoring Awards


Solomon L. Moshe, M.D. 
Professor, Departments of Neurology, Neuroscience, and Pediatrics  

Dr. Solomon L. Moshe (Left), Dr. Allen Spiegel (Right)

Basic Science 

Arturo Casadevall, M.D., Ph.D. 
Leo and Julia Forchheimer Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology  

Dr. Arturo Casadevall (Left), Dr. Allen Spiegel (Right)


The recipients of the 2007 Mentoring Awards


Ruth E .K. Stein, M.D. 
Professor of Clinical Pediatrics 

Dr. Allen Spiegel (Left), Dr. Ruth Stein (Right)

Basic Science 

Matthew D. Scharff, M.D. 
Distinguished Professor of Departments of Cell Biology and Medicine, Harry Eagle Professor of Cancer Research/National Women’s Division  

Dr. Allen Spiegal (Left) , Dr. Matthew Scharf (Right)


Click here to log in